• The ADMM-Plus is a platform for ASEAN and its eight Dialogue Partners to strengthen security and defence cooperation for peace, stability, and development in the region.
  • The main objective of ADMM Plus is to benefit ASEAN member countries in building capacity to address shared security challenges.
  • The ADMM-Plus countries include ten ASEAN Member States and eight Plus countries, namely Australia, China, India, Japan, New Zealand, Republic of Korea, Russian Federation, and the United States.
  1. The principles for membership to the ADMM-Plus process a country shall be
  • A full-fledged Dialogue Partner of ASEAN;
  • Have significant interactions and relations with ASEAN defence establishment;
  • Able to work with the ADMM to build capacity so as to enhance regional security in a substantive way in order to promote capacity-building in the region in the fields of defence and security.

In News:

  • Defence Minister has attended the 5thADMM plus meet in Singapore, which is a forum for Defence Ministers from ten ASEAN and eight ASEAN Plus countries.
  • The theme of this year’s dialogue was ‘Strengthening Cooperation, Building Resilience’.
  • The dialogue adopted two resolutions on ‘Countering the Threat of Terrorism’ and ‘Practical Confidence Building Measures’.

About ADMM:

  • The ASEAN Security Community (ASC) Plan of Action, adopted at the 10th ASEAN Summit, stipulates that ASEAN shall work towards the convening of an annual ADMM.
  • Against this background, the Inaugural meeting of the ADMM was held in Kuala Lumpur on 9 May 2006.
  • ADMM is the highest defence consultative and cooperative mechanism in ASEAN.
  • The ADMM aims to promote mutual trust and confidence through greater understanding of defence and security challenges as well as enhancement of transparency and openness.
  • All ASEAN Member States, namely Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Lao PDR, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Viet Nam are members of the ADMM.

Leave a Reply