Animal Welfare Board of India

  • It is a statutory, advisory body established under Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (PCA) Act, 1960.
  • It is within the jurisdiction of the Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change.
  • It ensures implementation of the animal welfare laws in the country and provides grants to animal welfare organizations and advice the Centre, States and UTs on animal welfare issues.
  • As per the Act, the Board comprises of 28 Members including 6 MPs (4 from Lok Sabha and 2 from Rajya Sabha) with the term of 3 years.
  • It is headquartered at Ballabhgarh in Haryana.
  • Last year, the government has notified that the board will be permanently chaired by senior official from the ministry of environment.
  • Recently, the board has issued directives to all the state departments to save stray animals from cruelty.
  • Thus, the responsibility of protecting stray animals is given to state departments. Previously it was the responsibility of cow shelters and animal activists.
  • The board does not have the right to prescribe punishments or fines for violations of the PCA Act but can pursue legal action.

Leave a Reply