ISRO launches India’s 42nd communication satellite CMS-01


  • The Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) launched the country’s 42nd communication satellite named CMS-01.

  • This is the second satellite launched by the space organisation amid the prevailing coronavirus (Covid-19) outbreak.

About CMS-01

  • A communications satellite envisaged for providing services in extended C Band of the frequency spectrum and its coverage will include the Indian mainland and the Andaman & Nicobar and Lakshadweep islands, the ISRO.
  • The satellite is expected to have a life of over seven years. CMS-01
  • It was injected precisely into its pre-defined sub- geostationary transfer orbit (GTO).
  • CMS-01 is considered to be a replacement of the aged satellite GSAT-12.
  • It provides services like tele-education, tele-medicine, disaster management support and Satellite Internet access.
  • The satellite will be the first in a new series of communication satellites by India after the GSAT and INSAT series.
  • The last satellite launched by ISRO was called Earth Observation Satellite (EOS) 01. The new satellite is to function as a replacement for the GSAT-12, which was launched in 2011, and is in orbit still.

Back to Basics

Geosynchronous Transfer Orbit (GTO)

  • A geosynchronous transfer orbit or geostationary transfer orbit (GTO) is a type of geocentric orbit.
  • Satellites which are destined for geosynchronous (GSO) or geostationary orbit (GEO) are (almost) always put into a GTO as an intermediate step for reaching their final orbit.
  • A GTO is highly elliptic.
  • Its perigee (closest point to Earth) is typically as high as low Earth orbit (LEO), while its apogee (furthest point from Earth) is as high as geostationary (or equally, a geosynchronous) orbit.

Communication Satellites

  • The Indian National Satellite (INSAT) system is one of the largest domestic communication satellite systems in Asia-Pacific region with nine operational communication satellites placed in Geo-stationary orbit.
  • Established in 1983 with commissioning of INSAT-1B, it initiated a major revolution in India’s communications sector and sustained the same later.
  • GSAT-17 joins the constellation of INSAT System consisting 15 operational satellites, namely – INSAT-3A, 3C, 4A, 4B, 4CR and GSAT-6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12, 14, 15, 16 and 18.
  • The INSAT system with more than 200 transponders in the C, Extended C and Ku-bands provides services to telecommunications, television broadcasting, satellite newsgathering, societal applications, weather forecasting, disaster warning and Search and Rescue operations.

Source: Business Today

For Science and Technology Current Affairs: Click here

Leave a Reply