Development of Inland Waterways


The Government has got a budget allocation for the development of Inland waterways transport, which also includes for North Eastern Region, for the year 2017-18.

Other facts:

  • Out of 111 National Waterways declared by the Government through the National Waterways Act, 2016, National Waterway-1 (Ganga-Bhagirathi-Hooghly river system from Allahabad to Haldia), National Waterway-2 (River Brahmaputra from Dhubri to Sadiya)  & National Waterway-3 (West Coast Canal from Kottapuram to Kollam along with Udyogmandal and Champakara Canals) are already operational.
  • In addition, in National Waterway-4 (Kakinada- Puducherry canals along with Godavari to Krishna  rivers) fairway development works in Vijayawada – Muktyala stretch of river Krishna have commenced under the Phase-I. Work for installation of floating terminals at four locations has commenced. 
  • A Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) has been signed between Inland Waterway Authority of India (IWAI), Govt. of Odisha, Paradip Port Trust and Dhamra Port Company Ltd. for the development of NW-5 (East Coast Canal integrated with Brahmani river and Mahanadi delta rivers).
  1. River Barak (NW-16)-Proposal for development for phase -1 of NW-16 from Silchar to Bhanga.
  2. River Gandak (NW-37)-
  3. Waterways in Goa
  • NW-27-Cumberjua
  • NW 68 – Mandovi
  • NW 111 – Zuari
  1. Alappuzha – Kottayam – Athirampuzha Canal-(NW-9) 
  2. River Rupnarayan-(NW-86)
  3. Sunderbans Waterways-(NW-97)


Leave a Reply