DIPP to set up India’s first TISC in Punjab

The Department of Industrial Policy and Promotion (DIPP) will establish India’s first Technology and Innovation Support Center (TISC) at Patent Information Centre, Punjab.

  • In this regard, DIPP has signed an Institutional agreement with the Punjab State Council of Science and Technology.

  • The TISC will be set up under the World Intellectual Property Organization’s (WIPO) TISC program.

TISC program:

  • TISCs will be set up under WIPO’s Technology and Innovation Support Centers (TISC) program.

  • The programme provides innovators in developing countries with access to locally based, high quality technology information and related services, helping them to exploit their innovative potential and to create, protect, and manage their intellectual property (IP) rights.

Services to be offered by TISCs may include:

  • Access to online patent and non-patent (scientific and technical) resources and IP-related publications;

  • Assistance in searching and retrieving technology information;

  • Training in database search;

  • On-demand searches (novelty, state-of-the-art and infringement);

  • Monitoring technology and competitors;

  • Basic information on industrial property laws, management and strategy, and technology commercialization and marketing.

Fodder Points:

  • The Cell for IPR Promotion and Management (CIPAM) is designated as the National Focal point for the TISC national network.

  • As the national focal point, CIPAM shall identify potential host institutions, assess their capacities and support them in joining the TISC project.

  • CIPAM will also act as the main intermediary between WIPO and TISC host institutions and coordinate all the activities of the national TISC network.

  • Over 500 TISCs operate worldwide and establishing TISC in India will give the host institutions an access to the global network.

About WIPO:

  • Created in 1967 “to encourage creative activity, to promote the protection of intellectual property throughout the world, the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) is one of the 17 specialized agencies of the United Nations.

  • It has currently 188 member states, administers 26 international treaties, and is headquartered in Geneva, Switzerland.

  • Non-members are the states of Marshall Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Nauru, Palau, Solomon Islands, South Sudan and Timor-Leste. Palestine has observer status.

  • India is a member of WIPO and party to several treaties administered by WIPO.


Leave a Reply