Eurasian Group (EAG)

  • The EAG was established on 6 October 2004 in Moscow by the decision of the Inaugural Conference and at the initiative of the Russian Federation, supported by the FATF, IMF, World Bank and several other countries.
  • The EAG is an FATF-style regional body and became an Associate Member of the FATF in June 2010.
  • The creation of an FATF-style regional body (FSRB) for countries of the Eurasian region that have not been part of existing FSRBs, is to play an important role in combating the threat of terrorism and increasing the transparency and security of financial systems of the region.
  • The EAG objective is to incorporate these countries into the global system on anti-money laundering and combating the financing of terrorism (AML/CFT).

The main goals of the EAG are to:

Facilitate implementation of international standards;
Carry out joint programs within the FIU sphere of competency;
Conduct evaluations of the effectiveness of existing AML/CFT mechanisms;
Coordinate technical assistance cooperation;
Analyze trends (typologies) in the AML/CFT sphere and exchange experience in combating these crimes

India is a Member of:

  • Member of the FATF since 2010
  • Member of the Asia Pacific Group (APG)
  • Member of the Eurasian Group (EAG) 

Leave a Reply