Fiji, Niger, Tuvalu join International Solar Alliance

Fiji, Niger and Tuvalu have deposited instrument of ratification of the Framework Agreement of the International Solar Alliance (ISA) in the recently held 5th meeting of International Steering Committee (ISC) of the ISA.

Current Status:

  • Till date 40 countries have signed and 11 countries have ratified the Framework Agreement of the ISA.
  • With ratifications by 15 countries, the ISA will become a treaty based inter-governmental international organization.

Location of the countries:


About ISA:

  • International Solar Alliance was launched, on the sidelines of COP-21, at the UN Climate Change Conference in Paris in November, 2015 by Modi and French President Francois Hollande.
  • The alliance, headquartered in India, aims to bring together countries situated between the Tropics of Cancer and Capricorn which receive abundant sunshine for around 300 days a year.
  • ISA aims to invite solar rich 121 countries located fully or partly between the tropics of Cancer and Capricorn to join the alliance.
  • International Steering Committee was establishment under the mandate of the Paris Declaration of ISA to provide the guidance and direction to establish the ISA.
  • It will function from the Gurgaon, Haryana based National Institute of Solar Energy (NISE).
  • India has offered a contribution of Rs 175 crore for creating ISA corpus fund and for meeting the cost of ISA secretariat for initial five years.
  • Alliance seeks to share common platform to reduce the cost of finance and technology that is needed to deploy solar power widely.
  • Alliance would pursue cooperation in training, building institutions, regulatory issues, common standards, and investment including joint ventures.

Source: PIB & Wiki, Google Map

Leave a Reply