WHO Framework Convention on Tobacco Control

  • WHO Framework Convention for Tobacco Control (FCTC) as an integral part of the post 2015 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).
  • The WHO Framework Convention on Tobacco Control (WHO FCTC) is the first global evidence-based public health treaty that recognises the right of all people to the highest standard of health.
  • The Treaty was developed by countries in response to the globalization of the tobacco epidemic.
  • There are currently 180 Parties to the Convention.
  • India has been the forerunner in ratification of this public health treaty and was the 7th Country to ratify the Convention in 2004.
  • India provided a leadership role in the negotiations of FCTC and was also the Regional Coordinator for the South-East Asia Region.
  • India ratified the treaty on 5th February 2004 and is therefore obligated to comply with the treaty provisions and its guidelines to reduce tobacco consumption globally.

Governing Body:

  • The Conference of the Parties (COP) is the Governing Body of the WHO FCTC and is comprised of all Parties to the Convention.
  • It keeps under regular review the implementation of the Convention and takes the decisions necessary to promote its effective implementation, and may also adopt protocols, annexes and amendments to the Convention.
  • The regular sessions of COP are held at two yearly intervals and therefore, this time, the Seventh Session of Conference of Parties (COP7) is being hosted by Government of India in partnership with the WHO FCTC Secretariat, which is based at the WHO Headquarters in Geneva.
  • India has taken significant steps to implement decisions of previous COP sessions.
  • As per the decisions taken during the Sixth Session of Conference of Parties (COP6), Government of India has set up a Global Knowledge Hub on Smokeless Tobacco at National Institute of Cancer Prevention and Research (NICPR). This hub serves as a repository of knowledge related to smokeless tobacco.

Leave a Reply