India was re-elected to Council of the International Maritime Organisation

  • The International Maritime Organization (IMO), known as the Inter-Governmental Maritime Consultative Organization (IMCO) until 1982 is a specialised agency of the United Nations responsible for regulating shipping.
  • The IMO was established in Geneva in 1948 and came into force ten years later, meeting for the first time in 1959. Headquartered in London, United Kingdom, the IMO has 172 Member States and three Associate Members.
  • The IMO’s primary purpose is to develop and maintain a comprehensive regulatory framework for shipping and its remit today includes safety, environmental concerns, legal matters, technical co-operation, maritime security and the efficiency of shipping.
  • IMO is governed by an assembly of members and is financially administered by a council of members elected from the assembly. The work of IMO is conducted through five committees and these are supported by technical subcommittees.
  • Other UN organisations may observe the proceedings of the IMO. Observer status is granted to qualified non-governmental organisations.
  • IMO is supported by a permanent secretariat of employees who are representative of the organisation’s members. The secretariat is composed of a Secretary-General who is periodically elected by the assembly, and various divisions such as those for marine safety, environmental protection and a conference section.

Recent in News:

  • India was re-elected to Council of the International Maritime Organisation (IMO) at an assembly of body at its headquarters in London.
  • India was elected under category B that represents nations with largest interests in international sea borne trade.
  • It secured second-highest 144 number of votes from member-countries, just after Germany’s 146.

Leave a Reply