India was elected as non-permanent member of UN Security Council


  • India was elected as non-permanent member of the powerful UN Security Council for a two-year term winning 184 votes in the 193-member General Assembly.

Details about the Election

  • India along with Ireland, Mexico and Norway won the UN Security Council elections.
  • To be elected to the Council, candidate countries need a two-thirds majority of ballots of Member States that are present and voting in the Assembly.
  • India was elected to the non-permanent seat of the Security Council for the term 2021-22 and will sit in the most powerful UN organ, for two years beginning on January 1, 2021.
  • India was a candidate for a non-permanent seat from the Asia-Pacific category for the 2021-22 term.
  • Previously, India has been elected as a non-permanent member of the Council for 08 terms. 

United Nations Security Council:

  • One of the six main organs of the United Nations(UN).
  • The council held its first session in 1946.
  • It is headquartered at New York,United States.
  • only body of the United Nations with the authority to issue binding resolutions to member states.
  • The presidency of the Council is held by each of the members in turn for one month, following the English alphabetical order of the Member States names.


  • The Council is composed of 15 Members.
  • Five permanent members: China, France, Russia, United Kingdom, and the United States, and ten non-permanent members elected for two-year terms by the General Assembly (with end of term year).
  • The non‑permanent members are elected on a regional basis for a two‑year term by the General Assembly.
  • It is not possible to bere‑elected immediately after holding a seat in the Security Council.

Leave a Reply