IUCN updates red list


  • The International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) on Monday released an updated red list classifying the different species.

What are the red list categories and what is it for?

  • According to their website,the IUCN Red List Categories are intended to be an easily and widely understood system for classifying species at high risk of global extinction.

The categories are:

  • EXTINCT — the last individual in the species has died.
  • EXTINCT IN THE WILD — it now lives only in captivity and not in its natural habitat.
  • CRITICALLY ENDANGERED — facing an extremely high risk of extinction in the wild.
  • ENDANGERED — facing a very high risk of extinction in the wild.
  • VULNERABLE — facing a high risk of extinction in the wild.
  • NEAR THREATENED — likely to qualify for a threatened category in the near future.
  • LEAST CONCERN — it is widespread and abuntant in the wild.
  • DATA DEFICIENT — inadequate information.
  • NOT EVALUATED — not yet been evaluated against the criteria.


Leave a Reply