Maharashtra, Haryana ratify GST Bill

  • Maharashtra and Haryana today ratified the Constitution Amendment Bill on Goods and Services Tax (GST) passed by the Parliament taking to 11 the number of states which have passed the landmark tax reform.
  • Besides Maharashtra and Haryana, nine states — Assam, Bihar, Jharkhand, Himachal Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh, Delhi and Nagaland, have already ratified the Bill.
  • The Constitution (122nd Amendment) Bill, 2014 on GST was passed by Parliament recently and it needs to be ratified by at least 15 state legislatures before the President can notify the GST Council which will decide the new tax rate and other issues.
  • The government has set April 1, 2017 as target for rolling out GST, considered as the biggest tax reform. The Maharashtra Legislative Assembly ratified the GST at a special one-day session of the state legislature in Mumbai.

Leave a Reply