National Marine Turtle Action Plan


  • Recently, the Ministry of Environment Forest and Climate Change (MoEFCC) has launched the National Marine Turtle Action Plan.

About National Marine Turtle Action Plan (NMTAP)

  • The aim of the action plan is to strengthen and sustain collective and collaborative sea turtle conservation through the monitoring of key sites and a network of partners in the Indian sub-continent. National Marine Turtle Action Plan
  • The project contains ways and means to not only promote inter-sectoral action for conservation but also guide improved coordination amongst the government, civil society and all relevant stakeholders.
  • It highlights actions to be taken for handling stranded animals on the shore, stranded or entangled animals in the sea or on a boat, reducing threats to marine species and their habitats, rehabilitation, etc.

Need of National Marine Turtle Action Plan (NMTAP)

  • India has rich marine biodiversity along a vast coastline of over 7,500 km.
  • From colorful fish, sharks, including Whale Sharks, turtles and big mammals like whales, dolphins and dugongs to bright corals
    • Marine habitats not only harbor diverse species but also provide resources essential for human wellbeing.
  • Millions of people depend on these resources ranging from maritime trade and transport, food, mineral resources, cultural traditions, spiritual values and inspiration that draws tourists from around the world.
  • Despite the immense economic, ecological and cultural values of marine habitats in India, marine mega fauna species and marine turtles face a wide variety of challenges including stranding and entanglement. 
  • Managing such challenging situations requires coordination, action and people’s participation which would help in the  long-term conservation of marine species and their habitats.

Back to Basics

  • Five species of Indian turtles along with their IUCN status are as follows: 
  1. Olive Ridley – Vulnerable
  2. Green turtle – Endangered
  3. Loggerhead – Vulnerable
  4. Hawksbill – Critically Endangered
  5. Leather back – Vulnerable
  • They are protected in Indian Wildlife Protection Act of 1972, under Schedule I.
  • All 7 species of marine turtles are listed on Appendix I of the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora (CITES).
  • They are also protected under the Biodiversity Conservation and Ganga Rejuvenation programme.

Source: The Hindu

Leave a Reply