New High Court in Andhra Pradesh

  • Andhra Pradesh will have a separate High Court from January 1,
Seat at Amravati:
  • The President constitutes a separate High Court for the State of Andhra Pradesh, namely, the High Court of Andhra Pradesh, with the principal seat at Amravati and the High Court of Judicature at Hyderabad shall become the High Court for the State of Telangana.
  • Justice Ramesh Ranganathan, who is at present the Chief Justice of Uttarakhand High Court, will head the new high court that will have 15 other judges. Ten judges – part of the common high court – will now be the judges of the Telangana HC.
  • It will be the 25th high court in the country and will initially function from a temporary structure till the permanent building comes up in the ambitious Justice City complex in the State’s capital Amravati.
  • With the enactment of the Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Act, 2014, Andhra Pradesh was bifurcated into two States, viz., State of Andhra Pradesh and State of Telangana.
  • The Act, which came into effect from June 2, 2014 has also a provision for separate high courts for State of Telangana and State of Andhra Pradesh.
  • The existing High Court is located at Hyderabad and it would be housing the High Court of State of Telangana.

Constitutional provisions for High courts in India:

  • There are 25 high courts at the state and union territory level of India.
  • High courts are instituted as constitutional courts under Part VI, Chapter V, and Article 214 of the Indian constitution.
  • Article 216: Constitution of high courts
  • Article 217: Judges in a High Court are appointed by the President of India in consultation with the Chief Justice of India and the governor of the state.
  • The Calcutta High Court is the oldest High Court in the country, established in 1862.


Leave a Reply