Policy on Agricultural Labourers

The Central Government has enacted the Unorganised Workers’ Social Security Act, 2008 to provide social security benefits to the workers including agricultural labourers in the unorganised sector.

This Act stipulates formulation of suitable welfare schemes for unorganised workers on matters relating to:

(i) life and disability cover,

(ii) health and maternity benefits,

(iii) old age protection and

(iv) any other benefit as may be determined by the Central Government through the National Social Security Board. Various Schemes, formulated by the Government to provide social security cover to the unorganized workers, which include agricultural labourers are listed in the Schedule I of the above Act are as under:

  1. Indira Gandhi National Old Age Pension Scheme (Ministry of Rural Development)
  2. National Family Benefit Scheme (Ministry of Rural Development)
  3. Janani Suraksha Yojana (Ministry of Health and Family Welfare)
  4. Handloom Weavers’ Comprehensive Welfare Scheme (Ministry of Textiles)
  5. Handicraft Artisans’ Comprehensive Welfare Scheme (Ministry of Textiles)
  6. Pension to Master Craft Persons (Ministry of Textiles)
  7. National Scheme for Welfare of Fishermen and Training and Extension (Department of Animal Husbandry, Dairying & Fisheries)
  8. Aam Admi Bima Yojana (Department of Financial Services)
  9. Rashtriya Swasthya Bima Yojana (Ministry of Health and Family Welfare).

     Further, the Atal Pension Yojana, Pradhan Mantri Jeevan Jyoti Bima Yojana and Pradhan Mantri Suraksha Bima Yojana launched by the Central Government also provide social security coverage to agricultural labourers.



Leave a Reply