Prepare Prelims 2017-Day-57-Mountain Passes in India

Nathu La Pass

  • It is located in the state of Sikkim.
  • This famous pass is located in the India- China border was reopened in 2006.
  • It forms a part of an offshoot of the ancient silk route.
  • It is one of the trading border posts between India and China.

Shipki La Pass: Himachal Pradesh –Tibet

  • It is located through Sutlej Gorge.
  • It connects Himachal Pradesh with Tibet.
  • It is India’s third border post for trade with China after Lipu Lekh and Nathula Pass.

Jelep La Pass: Sikkim-Lhasa

  • This pass passes through the Chumbi valley.
  • It connects Sikkim with Lhasa, the capital of Tibet.

Qara Tagh Pass

  • It is located in the Karakoram Mountains.
  • It was a subsidiary of the ancient silk route.

Khardung La: Leh- Siachin Glacier

  • It is the highest motorable pass in the country.
  • It connects Leh and Siachen glacier.
  • This pass remains closed during the winter.

Thang La

  • It is located in Ladakh. It is the second highest motorable mountain pass in India.

Aghil Pass: Ladakh- Xinjiang

  • It is situated to the North of Mount Godwin-Austen in the Karakoram.
  • It connects Ladakh with Xinjiang province of China.
  • It remains closed during the winter season from November to May.

Chang-La: Ladakh- Tibet

  • It is a high mountain pass in the Greater Himalayas.
  • It connects Ladakh with Tibet.

Lanak La: Ladakh-Lhasa

  • This is located in the Aksai Chin in Ladakh region.
  • It connects Ladakh and Lhasa.
  • The Chinese authority has built a road to join Xinjiang with Tibet.

Imis La: Ladakh- Tibet

  • The pass has a difficult geographical terrain and steep slopes.
  • This pass remains closed during the winter season.

Bara-La: Himachal Pradesh- Leh-Ladakh

  • It is situated on the National Highway in the state of Jammu and Kashmir.
  • It connects Manali and Leh.

Traill’s Pass

  • It is located in Uttarakhand.
  • It is situated at the end of the Pindari glacier and connects the Pinadri valley to Milam valley.
  • This pass is very steep and rugged.

Lipu Lekh: Uttarakhand-Tibet

  • It is located in Uttarakhand.
  • It connects Uttarakhand with Tibet.
  • This pass is an important border post for the trade with china.
  • The pilgrims for Manasarovar travels through this pass.

Mana Pass: Uttarakhand-Tibet

  • It is located in the Greater Himalayas and connects Tibet with Uttarakhand.
  • It remains under snow for six months during winter.

Mangsha Dhura Pass: Uttarakhand-Tibet

  • The pass which connects Uttarakhand-Tibet is known for landslides.
  • The pilgrims for Manasarovar cross this route.

Muling La: Uttarakhand-Tibet

  • This seasonal pass connects Uttarakhand with Tibet remains snow covered during winter season

Niti Pass

  • This pass joins Uttarakhand with Tibet.
  • This also remains snow covered during the winter season.

Debsa Pass: Spiti Valley and Parvati Valley

  • It joins Spiti Valley and Parvati Valley.
  • It is a high mountain pass in between the Kullu and Spiti of Himachal Pradesh.
  • It is a bypass route of Pin-Parvati Pass.

Rohtang Pass: Kullu-Lahul-Spiti

  • This located in the state of Himachal Pradesh.
  • It has excellent road transportation.
  • This pass connects Kullu, Spiti, and Lahul.

Bomdi-La: Arunachal Pradesh-Lhasa

  • The Bomdi-La pass connects Arunachal Pradesh with Lhasa, the capital city of Tibet.
  • It is located in the east of Bhutan.

Dihang pass: Arunachal Pradesh- Mandalay

  • It is located in the Northeastern states of Arunachal Pradesh. This pass connect Arunachal Pradesh with Myanmar (Mandalay)

Diphu pass: Arunachal Pradesh- Mandalay

  • The Diphu pass also provides easy and an alternate route to Myanmar.
  • This pass remains open throughout the year for the transportation and trade.

Likhapani: Arunachal Pradesh- Myanmar

  • It located in the state of Arunachal Pradesh.
  • This pass remains open throughout a year for transport and trade.
  • This connects Arunachal Pradesh with Myanmar.

 Pangsan Pass

  • It is located in the state of Arunachal Pradesh.
  • This pass connects Arunachal Pradesh and Myanmar.

Banihal Pass (Jawahar Tunnel): Banihal with Qazigund

  • Banihal pass is a popular pass in Jammu and Kashmir. It is situated in Pir- Panjal Range.
  • It connects Banihal with Qazigund.

Zoji La: Srinagar- Kargil & Leh

  • It connects Srinagar with Kargil and Leh. Beacon Force of Border Road Organization is responsible for clearing and maintaining the road, especially during winter.

Burzail pass: Srinagar- Kishan Ganga Valley

  • This pass joins the Valley of Kashmir with the Deosai Plains of Ladakh.

Pensi La

  • The Pensi La connects the Kashmir valley with Kargil.
  • It is situated in the Greater Himalayas.

Pir-Panjal Pass

  • It is a traditional pass from Jammu to Srinagar.
  • This pass was closed after the partition.
  • It provides shortest roadway access to Kashmir valley from Jammu.

Shencotta Gap: Madurai-Kottayam

  • It is located in the Western Ghats.
  • It joins the Madurai city in Tamil Nadu with Kottayam district in Kerala.


Leave a Reply