Self-Respect Movement

Self-Respect Movement

➖ E V Ramasamy ‘Periyar’ (1879-1973) had started the Self Respect Movement to “redeem the identity and self-respect” of Tamils.

➖ Envisaged an independent Dravida homeland of Dravida Nadu, comprising Tamil, Malayalam, Telugu and Kannada speakers, and launched a political party, Dravidar Kazhagam (DK).

➖ Periyar, the founder of the Self-Respect Movement (1925), was both anti-caste and anti-religion.

➖ Major social reforms, including equality for women in society, and supporting birth control for women for their health and well-being.

➖ Opposed the domination of Hindi and emphasised the distinct cultural identity of the Tamil nation.

➖ In 1920, the Justice Party won the first legislative council elections held under the Government of India Act, 1919, and formed the government.

🔺 South Indian Liberal Federation, popularly known as Justice Party, which was founded in 1917 by Sir Pitti Theagaraya Chetty, Dr T M Nair, and Dr C Natesa Mudaliar.

Leave a Reply