The Coral Triangle


  • Recently, the Coral Triangle Day (held every June 9) is a massive celebration of the Coral Triangle, the world’s epicentre of marine biodiversity.
  • The Coral Triangle day was observed the first time on June 9, 2012, in conjunction with the World Oceans Day on June 8.

About Coral Triangle

  • The Coral Triangle, the world’s epicenter of marine diversity, is one of the 3 mega ecological complexes on our planet, together with the Congo Basin and the Amazon Rainforest.

It is a vast ocean expanse that geographically spreads across 6 countries in Asia and the Pacific:




4.Papua New Guinea,

5.Solomon Islands, and

6.Timor Leste (the “CT6” countries)

Leave a Reply