The Legion of Honour to PM of India


  • French President recently, conferred his country’s highest honour, the Grand Cross of the Legion of Honour, upon Prime Minister of India.

    • The Government of India described it as a “warm gesture embodying the spirit of the India-France partnership”.

AboutGrand Cross of the Legion of Honour

  • The honour normally recognises the contribution of the French people in the “service of the nation”.
  • Foreigners are honoured for their support to France, and the award is sometimes conferred upon high dignitaries on a state visit to France.

    The Legion of Honour to PM of India
    Courtesy: Britannica
  • The National Order of the Legion of Honour, or simply The Legion of Honour is the highest French decoration, both civil and military, and is one of the most famous national honours in the world.
  • The Order was established by Napoleon Bonaparte in 1802, and has been presented for more than the past two centuries on behalf of the French Head of State to its most deserving citizens in all fields of activity.
  • The motto of the Order is Honneur et Patrie, French for Honour and Fatherland.

What does the award entail?

  • There is no material or financial benefit attached to the award.
  • The Legion of Honour cannot be applied for; the government identifies the potential honourees.
  • The award badge is a five-armed Maltese asterisk hung on an oak and laurel wreath.
  • On the obverse is the effigy of the Republic and on the reverse two tricolour flags surrounded by the motto Honneur et Patrie.
  • The colour of the ribbon is red.
  • The official website describes the award as a national emblem of France: “in a world losing its points of reference, the Legion of Honour remains a strong, understandable and unifying symbol.
  • It is deeply anchored in French society.”
  • It is “an invaluable source of pride for the recipients and their families and an example of civic service made public”.

When can a foreigner be honoured with the Legion?

  • The award website says foreigners may be decorated with the Legion of Honour “if they have rendered services (e.g. cultural or economic) to France or supported causes defended by France, such as human rights, freedom of the press, or humanitarian action”.
  • Also, “State visits are…an occasion for conferring the Legion of Honour upon official figures, pursuant to diplomatic reciprocity and thereby supporting the foreign policy of France.”

What is the award that Prime Minister of India has got?

  • The Legion of Honour has five degrees of increasing distinction: three ranks Chevalier (Knight), Officier (Officer), and Commandeur (Commander) and two titles Grand Officier (Grand Officer) and Grand-croix (Grand Cross).
  • The Prime Minister has been honoured with the highest French honour, akin to the Bharat Ratna in India.
  • The Legion of Honour is worn before any other French or foreign insignia, on the left-hand side.
  • With informal attire, lapel insignia (ribbon or rosette) is worn.
  • Pendants and small-size decorations are preferred for official ceremonies.

Source: IE

Visit Abhiyan PEDIA (One of the Most Followed / Recommended) for UPSC Revisions: Click Here

IAS Abhiyan is now on Telegram: Click on the Below link to Join our Channels to stay Updated 

IAS Abhiyan Official: Click Here to Join

For UPSC Mains Value Edition (Facts, Quotes, Best Practices, Case Studies): Click Here to Join

Leave a Reply