United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea

  • The United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea (UNCLOS), also called the Law of the Sea Convention or the Law of the Sea treaty, is the international agreement that resulted from the third United Nations Conference on the Law of the Sea (UNCLOS III), which took place between 1973 and 1982.
  • The Law of the Sea Convention defines the rights and responsibilities of nations with respect to their use of the world’s oceans, establishing guidelines for businesses, the environment, and the management of marine natural resources.
  • The Convention, concluded in 1982, replaced four 1958 treaties. UNCLOS came into force in 1994, a year after Guyana became the 60th nation to ratify the treaty.
  • As of June 2016, 167 countries and the European Union have joined in the Convention.
  • It is uncertain as to what extent the Convention codifies customary international law.
  • While the Secretary General of the United Nations receives instruments of ratification and accession and the UN provides support for meetings of states party to the Convention, the UN has no direct operational role in the implementation of the Convention.
  • There is, however, a role played by organizations such as the International Maritime Organization, the International Whaling Commission, and the International Seabed Authority (ISA).

The Ministry of Earth Sciences (MoES) is the nodal Ministry for the Law of the Sea-related issues-Remember this point (V.V.Important). UPSC can twist with Ministry of External Affairs/Ministry of Science and Tech. 

Why it is important to post this convention details?

Go to the link:

India to lose presence on U.N. scientific panel

Leave a Reply