Indian Polity and Constitution Notes for UPSC

Indian Polity and Constitution is an important subject for civil services exam. Notes making is an important task while preparing for the exam. These notes can also be helpful for aspirants preparing for the exam taking Indian Polity and International Relations as their optional subject. Build your concepts with our short notes specifically designed for Quick Revision.Indian Polity and Constitution Notes

Our Indian Polity and Constitution Notes for UPSC is extensive and to the point for clearing all your basic concepts of Indian Polity & Constitution of India.



Indian Polity and Constitution Notes for UPSC


  1. Introduction

  2. Constitutional Features

  3. Guiding Values of the Constitution

  4. Sources of Constitution

  5. Working of the Constitution

  6. Union & its Territory

  7. Citizenship of India

  8. Overseas Citizenship of India

  9. Preamble

  10. Fundamental Rights of Indian Constitution

  11. Fundamental Duties of Indian Constitution

  12. Directive Principles of State Policy

  13. Constitutional Amendments

  14. Basic Structure Doctrine of Indian Constitution

  15. Important Constitutional Amendments


  1. Parliamentary System vs Presidential System

  2. Federal System of Indian Constitution

  3. Centre-State Relations

  4. Sarkaria Commission 

  5. Punchhi Commission

  6. Emergency Provision

  7. Inter-State Relations

  8. Zonal Councils


  1. Union Executive

  2. The President of India

  3. The Vice-President of India

  4. The Prime Minister of India

  5. Central Council of Ministers

  6. Cabinet Committees

  7. Parliament

  8. Houses of Parliament : Important Articles of Part V : Important Offices

  9. Parliamentary Committees

  10. Parliamentary Forums in India

  11. Indian Parliamentary Groups

  12. Parliamentary Privileges

  13. Parliamentary Proceedings

  14. Legislative Procedure in Parliament

  15. Bills in Parliament

  16. Budgetary Procedure in Parliament

  17. Ineffectiveness of Parliamentary Control

  18. Position of Rajya Sabha

  19. Supreme Court of India

  20. Judicial Review in India

  21. Judicial Activism in India
  22. Public Interest Litigation


  1. Governor

  2. State Legislative Assembly

  3. Local Government

  4. Judiciary

  5. Communist government

  6. Office of profit

  7. Elections System

  8. Delimitation

  9. Political Parties

  10. Private Members Bills
  11. Constitutional Schedules

  12. Separation of Powers

  13. Protection of President and Governors

  14. Pressure Groups

  15. Panchayats (Extension to Scheduled Areas) Act, 1996 (PESA)

  16. Parts of Constitution

  17. Schedules

  18. 5th and 6th Schedules

Constitutional Bodies in India

  1. GST Council / Goods and Service Tax Council

  2. National Commission for SC

  3. National Commission for ST

  4. National Commission for Backward Classes

  5. Special Officer for Linguistic Minorities

  6. Comptroller and Auditor General of India

  7. Attorney General of India

  8. Solicitor General of India

  9. Advocate General of the State

Non-Constitutional Bodies in India

  1. NITI Aayog

  2. National Human Rights Commission

  3. State Human Rights Commission

  4. Central Information Commission

  5. State Information Commission
  6. Central Vigilance Commission

  7. Central Bureau of Investigation

  8. Lokpal

  9. Lokyuktas

  10. National Investigation Agency

  11. National Disaster Management Authority

Other Constitutional Dimensions in India

  1. Cooperative Societies 

  2. Official Language

  3. Public Service

  4. Rights and Liabilities of the Government

  5. Special Provisions Relating to Certain Classes

For Other Subject Wise Prelims Revisions: Click Here

For IAS Abhiyan NCERT Notes / Current Affairs / Test Series / Standard Notes : Click here