Conservation of Marine Species


  • In order to conserve marine species, Government of India has notified 130 Marine Protected Areas across the Coastal States and Islands; in addition 106 coastal and marine sites have been identified and prioritized as Important Coastal and Marine Biodiversity Areas (ICMBAs) to take care of marine species conservation.

Major initiatives for conservation of Marine Species

  1. Endangered Species Recovery Program (ESRP)
  2. Dugong Conservation Reserve to conservation of Dugongs and seagrass associated marine species
  3. National Marine Turtle Action Plan
  4. Project Dolphin is the Government initiative to conserve both oceanic and riverine dolphin species launched in 2021.
  5. Monitoring and conservation of marine turtles, marine dolphins and humpback whale under the PAN India: Integrated Development of Wildlife Habitat (IDWH) scheme.
  6. The Centre for Marine Living Resources and Ecology (CMLRE), an attached office of Ministry of Earth Sciences (MoES) is mandated with the management strategies development for marine living resources through ecosystem monitoring and modelling activities.
  7. The Coastal Regulation Zone (CRZ) Notification, 2019, promulgated under Environment (Protection) Act 1986, has specific focus on conservation and management plans of Ecologically Sensitive Areas (ESAs), like Mangroves, Seagrasses, Sand dunes, Corals and Coral reefs, Biologically active mudflats, Turtle nesting grounds, and Horse shoe crabs’ habitats and prohibit developmental activities and disposal of wastes in the fragile coastal ecosystems.

Source: PIB

Leave a Reply