New cadre policy for IAS, IPS officers finalised

  • Central Government a new policy for cadre allocation of IAS, IPS and other officers.

  • Now, officers of all-India services will have to choose cadres from a set of zones instead of states.

Division of existing Cadres

The existing 26 cadres have been divided into five zones in the new policy proposed by the ministry of personnel, public grievances and pensions

  • Zone I: AGMUT (also known as Arunachal Pradesh-Goa-Mizoram and Union Territories), Jammu and Kashmir, Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Punjab, Rajasthan and Haryana

  • Zone II: Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Jharkhand and Odisha

  • Zone III: Gujarat, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh

  • Zone IV: West Bengal, Sikkim, Assam-Meghalaya, Manipur, Tripura and Nagaland

  • Zone V: Telangana, Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Tamil Nadu and Kerala

Fodder Points for Mains:

  • This policy is aimed at ensuring “national integration” in the country’s top bureaucracy

  • This policy will ensure national integration of the bureaucracy as officers will get a chance to work in a state which is not their place of domicile

  • The new policy would help in upholding the rationale behind the all-India services


Leave a Reply